My education in software development

‹ Blogs

12th April 2021

I have always been fascinated with technology and computers since I was little. I would often spend hours watching videos learning more about the workings of computers and occasionally go on this website called Scratch which introduced me to the concept of programming.

In 2018 I attended a college taster programme in National College of Ireland. In the programme we were tasked of creating a game made with C# in the popular game engine Unity, this helped have a good idea on what software or game development is like.

I made little ventures into exploring the world of software developments through second level education until I have graduated, then I went on to do a 1-year course in software development at Dun Laoghaire Further Education Institute (DFEI). During my time at DFEI, I have covered topics such as the Software Development Life Cycle, Fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, Networking and other topics that help with my career. The programming languages I have learnt in the course are Visual Basic .NET, and Java and website building languages like HTML, CSS and JavaScript.